The Association of Nigerian Authors has made a call for entries for its annual literary prizes, 2020 edition.  

This was announced by the association’s General Secretary, Maik Ortserga. This year’s prizes will only feature four categories with N100,000 award prizes attached to each of them as listed below:  

  • ANA Prize for Poetry (published & unpublished) – N 100,000
  • ANA Prize for Prose Fiction (published & unpublished) – N 100,000
  • ANA Prize for Drama (published & unpublished) – N 100,000
  • ANA Prize for Children's Literature- 7-13 years age range (Published works only and open to all categories of authors) - N100, 0000

Nigerian writers, at home and abroad, desirous of entering their works for the annual literary prizes, may now do so. Works entered should have been published between 2018 and 2020.

Each entry must be accompanied with an administrative fee of N3,000, paid into the association’s account, with the following details: Account Name: Association of Nigerian Authors, Bank: Zenith Bank of Nigeria Plc, Account No: 1014606745. The entry should be submitted with a photocopy of the appropriate Deposit Slip as evidence of payment.

Attach six copies (6) of the book or manuscript to be entered, specifying the Prize being entered for, alongside a covering letter. The covering letter should be addressed to The General Secretary, Association of Nigerian Authors (ANA), KM 2, Mamman Vatsa Writers’ Village, Mpape, Abuja or PMB 518, Garki, Abuja.

The covering letter should contain accurate contact details of the writer or/and publisher of the work, including email and surface mail addresses and telephone numbers.

Related article: ANA Honours Late Poet Ikeogu Oke, Calls for Entries for Ikeogu Poetry Prize

Please, note also that the Association will NOT take responsibility for the delay in the postal service nor claim registered parcels in cases where it has to pay for such entries or parcels.

Multiple entries are allowed. However, a work must not have been entered for the same prize prior to the present entry and it must have been published between 2018 and 2020.

The works that are to be submitted in all categories should be original and not recast(s) of already existing works. All submissions are subjected to copyright laws of Nigeria as authors should note that they retain full responsibility for any sort of infringement.

Deadline for the receipt of all entries is October 15, 2020 and there will be no extension of this deadline.

A shortlist will be announced by the end of October, 2020. Winners of the prizes will be announced by the judges at the Awards Dinner during the International Annual Convention of the Association of Nigerian Authors in November, 2020.

more details are published on the association's website,

Share this post

0 Comment

    Be the first to comment on this post

Leave a comment